Posted by: Orlick | March 1, 2011

Subject: question….

From my Facebook:

Hey Jeff!
Hope you’re doing well! I’m sorry I haven’t had a chance to make it out to any of your events lately…they’re always such great New York experiences. So I thought I’d come to you for a little advice about where to take a budding foodie friend whose visiting New York for the week. He’s especially excited about exploring Queens.

Could you recommend maybe three or four places for us to try in Queens this week? Do you know of any exciting events going on? Thanks for your input, and I hope to see you soon!

Jeffrey Tastes February 21 at 1:27pm
Hey David – I actually am in the same situation in 2 weeks, but this person has barely been to any of the city. I will probably take him to Katz’s, maybe an izakaya and will stop at pizza along the way — there’s great pizza in so many places that I don’t think people need to take a special trip for it.
okay, Queens eats…

Go down Steinway, some place from broadway to astoria blvd. there are so many egyptian area places. lots of interesting stuff there.

I, of course, like roosevelt ave walking into Corona. some street food and the restuarants are cool.

I am digging the tibet places on 37th Rd lately, but that’s only places that are contained inside a restaurant. I like Shangri-La but the name is changed and the entrance is in the back on 37th Rd. next to a butcher.

ohh, Murray Hill Queens. The Korean places to eat around the LIRR station. You will get some amazing food here. It’s a bit of a walk from the 7, but it’s great food and a great korean experience. Something in Flushing would be great, like the golden mall as a pregame maybe.

Liberty Ave in richmond hill is also a wild ride. lots of west indian places. I think the A train rides overhead.

Let me know what you end up doing and how it goes. I’m still discovering new stuff all the time here.

not sure of any events. I try to stay out of the loop generally.

Leave a Reply

Categories

