Posted by: Orlick | January 16, 2010

Judy Ruminates… Spice – Union Square, Manhattan

Spice
Category: Thai
Neighborhoods: Union Square, Greenwich Village
39 E 13th St
(between 5th Ave & University Pl)
New York, NY 10003
(212) 982-3758
www.spicethainyc.com/spice/

It’s been awhile since I’ve stepped foot in a restaurant with such a cool setup like Spice. What would Buddha say if he were alive today looking at his likeness splashed all over the walls with rock star zeal? The second floor had more visual drama comprised of troughs of upward light and tight seating lining the open two-story atrium. My eyes soaked it in and I felt like maybe I should be in a dress with knee-high boots sporting four inch heels.


Our seafood dumplings came in a puke green color but despite the weird color choice, were delicious. My Bangkok curry fish came boned, breaded, and fried with a thick skin. The curry was not that complex for a Thai curry, but it was tasty. I had so much of it I gladly spooned a fair bit over my friend’s chicken fried rice. My rice came in a small cone shape, which I had never seen before. Cute. We both got the lychee thai iced tea but it was so cloyingly sweet I couldn’t finish mine.

Bangkok curry fish:

Siamese chicken fried rice:

I wouldn’t say this place has very authentic Thai food, but the fun atmosphere makes up for it. — Judy Ruminates

Links:
300+ Yelp reviews
Dine or Death on the lunch special

Responses

  1. Sweet Basil in Woodside rocks- try the drunken noodles!!! Mmmmmmm…

  2. Duly noted! Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

