Posted by: Orlick | January 6, 2010

Fritzie’s Bake Shop – New Woodside Filipino Bakery

Fritzie’s Bake Shop
Categories: Filipino, Bakeries
69-10 Roosevelt Ave
Woodside, NY 11377
(718) 507-0205

I saw on their business cards that the first location of Fritzie’s is in Bergenfield, NJ. This explains why they seem to have their business down pat already. A welcome addition to Queens’ Little Manila.

Fritzie’s has only been open for a week, but the sign has been taunting the Queens food crew and I for months. What’s it gonna be??

I’m pleasantly surprised that it’s not only a cake bakery. It’s a Filipino baked goods bakery with steam tables (YES!).

3 selections over rice and a drink for $7+tax. Although I don’t like +tax, this is what you have to expect with a new establishment potentially on probation from the IRS. The food was great. Fresh, salty and smooth. I had lechon, pork spring rolls and a shrimp paste vegetable medley.


And they are already gaining a steady stream of clientele. There was never a still moment the entire time I was there on a mid-afternoon weekday.

To the left are steamed rolls with marinated pork (or maybe chicken) inside. They looked enticing, but I wanted the empanadas I saw the crew putting together fresh behind the counter as I was checking out.

And my empanada was excellent. Baked with marinated chicken, carrots, huge raisins(they might not even be raisins), eggs and other stuff inside a soft, flakey, sweet crust.


There is also a baked wall similar to Dunkin’ Donuts, but my bad eyes prevent me from knowing what exactly is for sale. And although the language barrier is not a problem, my peppering of questions did not extend to that back wall.

I was thinking that this might be a good Food Group post party, but their cakes seem shipped in. And even for a dinner to be there, I don’t think the steam tables are enough to warrant a Food Group. But they do warrant a big recommendation. I’m in.

Links:
Filipinos in JC

Responses

  1. […] week I had a sexy cake from La Vallita in Brooklyn.. well, this hails from Fritzies, a Filipino bakery in Woodside, Queens and I am once again amazed by these insane cakes.  I want […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

