Posted by: Orlick | December 16, 2009

Shangri-La Express Becomes Brick and Mortar

We will serve the same tasty momo you have enjoyed over the years from our push cart in Jackson Height, NY. Thanks to all our loyal customers. ” – Namgyal Ghongpa & Tsering Chuki

Shangri-La Express, Inc. Dumpling & Curry House
72-24 Roosevelt Ave, Jackson Heights, NY 11372
347-951-6300 or 718-440-4102
Next to Yak Restaurant on Roosevelt Avenue between 73 & 72 st

I was never plussed by Tibetan food before. The dishes hadn’t fit comfortably in my mouth and belly. The spice hurt, not excited me and I felt like I was ordering from a dart board. But this breaks me. I’m in.

And at Shangri-La Express I can see the meals. Glistening beef with pepper innards, curry chicken, a big, possibly blood, sausage, and red tripe not apologizing for a front row appearance. No chance for them to dumb down for gweiloh. And it looks good, but there’s something about putting stomach inside my stomach that still makes me uncomfortable. Tripe to tripe, dust to dust. Same with brain. Brain isn’t supposed to be eaten. It’s a heathen’s food. That ultimate glutton’s melange will make one crazy. Luckily it’s not served here. Only tripe.

I’ve been here twice in 3 days and I’m having trouble not getting the chilli chicken. The spice is tremendous and the chicken pieces are fresh, tender and crisp, and pre-separated from the bone with character.

And although I made the quick decision of not being a fan of the cart long ago, I have a big opening in my heart for the brick and mortar of Shangri-La Express. I wonder what the future holds.

Links:
*Possibly the Official Site
Official Ad

Responses

  1. […] Links: JHLife discussion on Louie’s Shangri-La Express opens […]

  2. […] Just a reminder, SLE is a new store with a yellow overhang next to Himalayan Yak, across the street from Rice Ave. This is NOT the one in Little India. http://www.ediblecommunities.com/queens/world-s-fare-by-joe-distefano/finding-shangri-la-and-dumplings-in-jackson-heights.htm http://iwantmorefood.com/2009/12/16/shangri-la-express-becomes-brick-and-mortar/ […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

