Posted by: Orlick | August 4, 2009

Cubbyhole – West Village, NYC

Cubbyhole
Category: Gay Bars
Neighborhood: West Village
281 W 12th St
(between 4th St & Greenwich Ave)
New York, NY 10014
(212) 243-9041
cubbyholebar.com

Does gay have to mean ‘preferring the cubbyholes of your own sex‘? Are they really so intolerant? I am going to give them the benefit of the doubt and say that the definition they intend is one of the following: Merry, bright, or licentious – any one of which I am more than happy to oblige.

We stumbled upon it b/c it was open late on a Sunday and looked fun from the outside. It was even moreso on the inside; I kept thinking there was underwear on the ceiling but it was really just a permanent mardi gras theme.

We walked in with our new faux snake skin jackets and two frenchies and had a splendid time. The beers were cheap. Sunday we had 2 dollar Pork Slaps ’til we finished them off.

Most of the music was fun. Yeah, they played Madonna, but at least it wasn’t “Vogue”. There are definitely at least two sections to the bar. At the time, I preferred the more lit part only because we quickly made a new friend there.

I would not hesitate to go to the Cubbyhole again. If I ever am stumbling in Greenwich again, and I see cubbyhole, I am a dart.

I hear Fridays and Saturdays are for lesbians.

Here’s to bringing back the gay 20’s!~

Responses

  1. […] Cubbyhole bar review: “I hear Fridays and Saturdays are for lesbians” (IWantMoreFood) […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

