Posted by: Orlick | July 1, 2009

Krolewskie Jadlo – Greenpoint, Brooklyn

Krolewskie Jadlo
Category: Polish
Neighborhoods: Williamsburg – North Side, Greenpoint
694 Manhattan Ave
(between Bedford Ave & Norman Ave)
Brooklyn, NY 11222
(718) 383-8993

If you look at the owner’s mission statement, it helps you realize why the warmth of goodness is felt throughout your meal:

“I have always dreamt about opening real polish restaurant, a restaurant that Polish people would not be ashamed of, a restaurant that will be loved by every nation that lives in Big Apple and finally a restaurant with a unique design and excellent food… I will do everything to satisfy you needs. ” – Krzysztof Drzewiecki

We ordered a nice cross section of food. Bacon wrapped plums, smoked salmon with herb cream on potato pancakes, and trout were standouts. I am sure there are many more standouts I haven’t tried yet.

Red borscht with dumplings was too much for even me to handle. I am only 1/4 Polish, I need at least another quarter to handle that. The coloring is transparent but soo deep purple/red. The flavor matches the color and thick consistency.

On the other hand, white borscht is delicious! It is opaque, smokey, with bits of kielbasa swimming on the underbelly – and comes with a side of great mashed (somehow, with my meal coming soon after, I wound up with an abundance of mashed potatoes).

I took a peek in the kitchen. I swear they must have been actors… There was 2 or 3 blue collared shirts/yellow checkered aprons grey haired old ladies cooking the food. Grandma??

Ideal for any situation that needs addressing: dates, groups of 8, roughneck friends, parents in town. This is destined to be another darling getaway from the city and jewel of greenpoint if it isn’t already.

Links:
Official SiteYelp Reviews
Gothamist Review

Responses

  1. Ah yes, I wax nostalgic for Greenpoint, even though I moved away when I was five. I’ll definitely have to check it out!


Leave a Reply

Categories

