Posted by: Orlick | June 22, 2009

La Bodega Hispana – Huntington Station, NY

La Bodega Hispana
Category: Latin American
1888 New York Ave
Huntington Station, NY 11746
(631) 549-1676

“A Rainbow of Pork”

The words came from from eyes, marinated my mind, then rolled off my tongue. I gravitated towards the pork. Two of the greatest foods known to man were staring me down. Carnitas and Chicharones whole.

Later, when I opened my plate, the only smell I could compare it to was Thanksgiving. What warmth!

Large hot food selection, although by 7pm some items looked like that was past their time. The portion sizes are gigantic. For 7 dollars, I have enough dinner for 3 days. 2 if I am planning on stuffing myself. There is a large selection of drinks, grocery items as well as a large table in back for… eating?

Surprisingly gringo friendly. No blaring music, easy to point windows, bilingual staff. I walked out and a gringo coming in smiled at me. He knew.

Leave a Reply

Categories

