Posted by: Orlick | April 27, 2009

Pepsi Natural: Not that good at all

I had a bottle of Pepsi Natural yesterday. I liked the bottle and the label – but the most attractive thing was “sugar” and not high fructose corn syrup. I thought it might match up to Mexican Cokes so I got it.

It pretty much sucks. Has a dab of apple soda taste to it, but mostly tastes greasier with a hint of apple soda. I will stick to Mexican Cokes indefinitely.

The ingredients on the label:
Sparkling water, sugar, natural apple extract (color), carmel color, citric acid, caffeine, acacia gum, tartaric acid, lactic acid, natural flavor, kola nut extract.

You can see where the apple taste comes from, considering it is the number 3 ingredient on the label. Why do they have to add this much food coloring? If it tasted clean and beautiful, no one would complain which color it was.

I now hear about this “Pepsi Throwback” – which I will have to try.

Links:
Pepsi Throwback info
Check out how many Pepsis there have been
Some good commenters

Responses

  1. Do you know where I can find it? (Especially in lower Manhattan?) I haven’t seen it around.

  2. I got it at rivington and suffolk at stop 1 deli.

  3. Thanks.


Leave a Reply

Categories

