Posted by: Orlick | January 8, 2009

Review Jam Event – Ottos Shrunken Head – Jan 24th

I’m putting on an event ! yooooo!!!

Saturday, January 24, 2009, 6:00 PM – 8:00 PM
Otto’s Shrunken Head – 538 E 14th St

Review JamSometimes a review has to be spoken.

This event is for food reviewers or anyone who likes to hear other people’s reviews. Here you will get the chance to read your reviews (or other people’s reviews) to a group of people who will dig it. Bring your reviews or memorize them for added effect. See you there! Let me know if you’re interested.

There are many reasons why I wanted to put this on:
1 – I had the idea. Any idea you have, you have to do it. The only reason not to do it was the work. I tried last year and had trouble getting a spot. I happened upon a perfect place and time to do it through some of my other activities. So I took it!
2 – I want to meet some Yelpers and food writers in person. All of the events are during the week. I work then and never get to go. No one was doing it for me, so I had to make it happen myself.
3 – Some reviews don’t get the attention they deserve. I write in a spoken word fashion generally. Perhaps people don’t pick it up. This gives me a chance to speak my writing how it’s supposed to be emphasized.
4 – I hope this inspires people to get on stage, meet other people, and maybe break through some fears. I love that stuff.

Links:
Event page on Yelp
Ottos Shrunken Head

Leave a Reply

Categories

