Posted by: Orlick | December 26, 2008

How to make an Egg Cream – From Fox’s Ubet

A few of my remaining memories of my uncle Melvin are motorcyles, stray car parts, stubble, the color black, coming to my house during Hurricane Gloria and Ubet Chocolate syrup. He was a beverage distributor and it may be a disfunction of my memory, but I think he was the one who kept us supplied with Fox’s Ubet Chocolate Syrup. We had those bottles in my fridge for years! We barely used them. The crust under the twist top was perpetual. We never made egg creams, but once in a while we made ice cream soup, lalalalala (see video)

From then H. Fox & Co. website, here is the recipe for The Original Brooklyn Egg-Cream:

Take a tall, chilled, straight-sided, 8oz. glass

Spoon 1 inch of U-bet Chocolate syrup into glass

Add 1 inch whole milk

Tilt the glass and spray seltzer (from a pressurized cylinder only) off a spoon, to make a big chocolate head

Stir, Drink, Enjoy

Links:
Supposed last known place for a real egg cream
Egg Cream History

Responses

  1. Oh my! This is excellent. I always had egg creams as a child, and I just love reading about them.


Leave a Reply

Categories

