Posted by: Orlick | December 4, 2008

My application for Dinner with Jamie Oliver

I recently submitted an application for a new show, “Dinner with Jamie”
I applied to be one of the diners in his secret underground supper club… ohhhhh.
Here are the questions and answers:

AGE: 27
ETHNICITY: Jew?
OCCUPATION: Graphic Artist at a news show
HAVE YOU EVER BEEN TO AN UNDERGROUND SUPPER CLUB BEFORE?
NO, and I’m really mad about that. NY Bite Club is the primo one that I want to go to. They were on hiatus for a while, but are back now. I feel positive about that. Hopefully I will have the opportunity to attend soon.
WHY DO YOU WANT TO COME TO JAMIE’S UNDERGROUND SUPPER CLUB?
I hear Jamie Oliver is one cool mother. But also, I love the idea of underground supper clubs and want to see what Jamie can offer. It’s cool that you are making a show out of this, I’d like to see how it develops.

DESCRIBE YOUR RELATIONSHIP WITH COOKING? (eg. How often do you cook for yourself/ friends/ family? Are you a talented cook or does it intimidate you? Are there any practical reasons why you don’t cook; food too expensive; kitchen too small; no time?)
I don’t know how to cook, but I like to cook and be around the kitchen. I can’t follow a recipe, my brain and hands just don’t perform well in those circumstances. I do consider myself to have a good feel of the kitchen though. I am usually able to come up with things on the fly with ingredients that I have in my refrigerator. Yes, some things come out burnt, bad, or inedible, but hey, I’m learning.
I cook for my friends and family whenever I can. It gets me excited to be able to feed them and to get a second opinion of what I’m preparing. I cook for myself at least 6 times a week.
I buy whatever is on sale that week and I create something out of that. It keeps my pockets full and a variety in my mouth.

DESCRIBE YOUR RELATIONSHIP WITH NEW YORK RESTAURANTS (eg. How often do you eat out? What type of restaurants do you go to? What do you like/ dislike about restaurants in New York?)
I eat out at least 5 times a week. I prefer restaurants that are authentic and sometimes adventurous. I usually don’t appreciate words like ambiance and fine.
I love the New York restaurant scene. NYC as a whole though, not just Manhattan. I moved to Jackson Heights for one reason: the food. I even started a restaurant club exploring the different cultures of cooking in Queens. I’m passionate about trying new experiences and new ways of cooking.
Whenever I go out to a restaurant, I try my hardest to get a good look at the kitchen and how the chefs go about their business. I pay attention to their integrity and love of the food.
I have been writing about food for over a year on my website:
http://iwantmorefood.com/
and on Yelp:
http://sayyes.yelp.com
you can get a better idea of my tastes and personality there

WHAT ARE YOU DOING FOR THANKSGIVING THIS YEAR AND WHAT WILL YOU BE EATING?
I just spent the day with my parents and my brother and his family. We do it every year like this. My mother was never a great cook (this is why I had to learn how to cook), but she makes a great turkey dinner. It was nice.

Links:
Jamie Oliver official website

Responses

  1. Hey – I saw this episode on the plane! I want to find that secret Peruvian restaurant – do you know where it is?


Leave a Reply

Categories

