Posted by: Orlick | October 8, 2008

Jackson Heights Food Group – Sunday School for Bon Vivants

I saw a need for the community and so I had to fill it. Sometimes you just need someone to start the spark. Therefore, I am starting a club, centered in Jackson Heights, whereby on Sundays we go out searching for the sometimes adventurous, always authentic foods of the area.

It’s best for me if I make the rules. Like meeting on Sunday nights and picking the places. I do know I am pretty adventurous and get bored quicker than anyone else, this is what makes me great for making the call where we go and how it’s organized. I love to research restaurants and figure out what fits right. Already I have found dozens of places to go in the area, I am not worried at all about running out of places to go.

I figure we will include anything within walking distance of the Roosevelt Ave station, so that means restaurants in JH, Woodside, Elmhurst, Corona and possibly Sunnyside and Astoria. Eventually I’d like to make it a group of all of Queens, but for now we will keep it local.

The name was difficult to come up with. My friends and I contemplated for cumulatively hours. There were talks of bon vivants, epicures, queens milk, supper clubs, sunday schools, knoshes, acronyms and other religious/pretentious/literary devices. In the beginning my thoughts were simple and finally it is also simple: Jackson Heights Food Group.

We will figure out rules along the way, of course it will always be acceptable to break them.

addendum: the phrase is just too pretty… the tagline is “Sunday School for Bon Vivants”

bon vivants:
Etymology: French, literally, good liver
Date: circa 1695
: a person having cultivated, refined, and sociable tastes especially with respect to food and drink

I will make a page for it on my blog which will be the homepage for the group. I will keep the latest information for the group there as well as a running history of our experiences. Send me a message if you are interesting in joining.

Responses

  1. I’d be interested in joining. How was Himalayan Yak? I’ve looked at the menu several times but have had bad experiences with food in that genre in the past — yak butter tea?


Leave a Reply

Categories

