Posted by: Orlick | June 10, 2008

What Should I Eat When I’m Hot?

It’s so hot outside, I don’t feel like eating ANYTHING. I enlisted the help of a few friends to come up with some great foods to have when you are hot – not drinks.

Here are some suggestions:
Cold, Crisp, Green Salad
How about a cold cut sub? all that bread can cool you down. I want to go to an italian deli for hmmmm.. homemade something.
Fruit of course like watermelon, oranges, cherries, cucumbers, mangos, kiwis
FROZEN GRAPES.
I haven’t tried, but by the end of this heat wave, I will have.
Not Fried seafood. Especially shellfish would cool you down. How about those cold shrimp guys that you have to peel? Peel n’ eat. With the cocktail sauce, that’s pretty cooling.
Other shellfish like lump crabmeat, lobster, oysters sound great right now.
Tuna salad, chicken salad, some salad on white bread mmmm. I had a craving for a bagel shop today…
Raw veggies – carrots, broccoli
Cold noodles Japanese and Korean

I had shaved ice today. There was a guy on the street with a big block and about 13 syrups to add. He shaved it off with a plane, put it in a cup, added tamarind syrup, and put a straw in.
For some reason, the $1 and $2 cups were basically the same size. 1 was one like in the dentists office, 2 was styrofoam. Maybe he was environmentally conscious?
Anyway, it really wasn’t that great. I’d much rather have a frozen custard or even a water based ice. After a few minutes, the ice formed together and the flavor doesn’t really combine well. The presentation is really cool though, a true bonding experience. That block of ice is great.

Yesterday I had pieces of coconut. I had no idea how to eat it. I kind of scraped with with my teeth. Here is how to eat a coconut from Yahoo Answers, a site my brother loves.

Links:
Yelp Thread: Food to eat when it’s HOT
Summer Express: 101 Simple Meals Ready in 10 Minutes or Less from NYT

Leave a Reply

Categories

