Posted by: Orlick | April 22, 2008

Spuyten Duyvil – Williamsburg, Brooklyn, NY

359 Metropolitan Ave
Brooklyn, NY 11211
718 963-4140
Spuyten Duyvil
Category: Pubs
Neighborhood: Brooklyn/Williamsburg – South Side

I had heard about Spuyten Duyvil for a while – It’s been a bookmark for the last few months even. Only the other day did I find out that that bar without a name I was at a couple of weeks ago actually WAS Spuyten Duyvil.

I can see it now. I can see what the fuss was about. Something I haven’t seen is such a selection! I haven’t even heard of most of the beers here, and the ones I did try were really good. How can a staff be knowledgeable about all this alcohol? Very smart apparently. Very studious.

Decor is cool. people did not claim to be hip at all – which is always appreciated.

and look at that.. they have their jukebox list on the website
I mean, yeah, pretty fucking good music.

I had always heard of the beer garden they have here. Last week I went into the backyard of this bar, where people go to smoke.. I mean, I guess it’s a beer garden…. It’s outside.. I wouldnt go bragging all around town though. I think I may be spoiled by the garden of Astoria

There are highs and lows to every trip here. The mold wine (?) was pretty awesome, and I liked their mugs so much I went out and got them for myself (at Ikea). I was also turned off by the bartenders b/c they were as cold as February. The clientelle is well behaved, which is not always what I am looking for. highs and lows.
09/16/2007
ikea mug
Links:
Official Website

Leave a Reply

Categories

