Posted by: Orlick | February 8, 2008

The Water Club – New York, NY

500 East 30th Street
New York, NY 10001
(212) 683-3333
The Water Club

Categories: Seafood, American (Traditional)
Neighborhood: Manhattan/Stuyvesant Town
http://www.thewaterclub.com/

Here I sit, Water Club website theme music playing. Is this a loop perfectly executed? Ahh, I don’t think I will tire of it.

I never actually dined here. I never even paid for anything. Although last Saturday I spent about an hour there recovering from my friend exploding in my back seat.

After drinking session that I probably pushed too much, driving up the FDR, I hear from my friend:

“Pull over I’m gonna throw up!!”
“Theres no shoulder I can’t!”
SPLASHHH

I mean, it was gross. I was in the passenger side, so I didn’t know the extent of it until I exited the car. We pulled into the first stop we could, The Water Club. It was actually very inviting. It was obviously ritzy, but I walked in with my green t-shirt and jeans and asked for the bathroom. I returned with a cup of water and paper towels to my friend shirtless and hunched over the pleasant benches overlooking the “breathtaking views of… the East River.” While he attempted to clean up, I walked around as a party boat pulled in with 20 -24 year olds celebrating some great success. Nice kids, as friendly as the music from the website.

Checking back on my car, the smell was nearly intolerable. It became a rare occasion where I actually NEEDED a drink. I invited the other 2 passengers inside to join me. Being 1230, the bar was closed. Apparently Old Man Rockefeller goes to sleep at midnight on Saturdays… The bartender was nice enough to give us a bag to dispose of the paper towels (which a security person suggested I take with us in my car – yeahhh right).

2 of us continued on and the victim took a cab home. Is it needless to say the rest of the night was spent with the windows down?

So, thanks Water Club. I enjoyed your facilities and your pleasant atmosphere and staff. I would sure love to drop by again under more favorable circumstances. Until then…

Water Club in New York

Leave a Reply

Categories

