Posted by: Orlick | January 22, 2008

Vegetarian Week Conclusion

I’ve had one week to let my vegetarian week experience settle in.

People thought it may mess up my energy or my metabolism. It didn’t. It messed up my head.

In the past I shunned vegetarian meals, something that lacked substance, lacked a center. My nuclear family upbringing NEVER had a meal without meat.

A broad new world opened up in my mind. It’s a different way of eating. Non-meat is less filling, but that’s okay, I don’t always want a brick in my stomach.

Part of the reason I did the exercise was to give me more food choices. I did not necessarily eat that many more foods in the week, BUT it did open the flood gates for the possibilities of eating more types of meals. I am always trying to be more open-minded in everything I do. This was a very successful part of the exercise.

A side effect that I didnt anticipate was that my digestive system feels much better. People say that meat stays in your system for 3 days to a week. I had been feeling pains in the area and I’m glad to say that I feel much cleaner, much less constricted.

A talk with a friend articulated something I have been leaning towards the whole week. What I am now trying to do is limit my meat footprint. There is so much meaningless meat going through the world today: fish sticks, lunchroom hamburgers, chicken patties, ham sandwiches… None of these meals are going to make to take a step back and appreciate life. For now on, if I am going to be eating meat, I want to love it. It has to be a great experience or it is not worth it – In a macro and micro view.

I am always trying to improve myself no matter what I am doing. Consistently building on yourself is an important priority in my life – this is what I encourage everyone to do that I meet. I figure I am going no where with these meaningless meat meals. If I am able to eat in a way to clean out my system and provide different nutrients to my body whenever I am not having a delicious meat oriented meal, that is how I am able to improve myself during these holes in time where I would normally have my chicken parm hero.

What is working for me is giving myself a 5 meat meal limit for the week. This keeps me conscious of what I am eating and still allows me to endulge whenever I want to. For me, I am the type to save so I would normally use less than what is allotted. Last week I had 4 meals with meat. Chicken salad quickie sandwich, jamaican chicken stew/beef patty, italian hero, and one silver dollar sized sausage. It is a challenge and I am always game for that. For me, there is always that mystery item in my future which I want to hold out for.

CONCLUSION: Not every meal is meaningful, so make them useful.

Responses

  1. I enjoyed reading your findings. I think it is quite admirable that you are “always trying to improve yourself.”

    Thanks for inspiring others.

  2. “Non-meat is less filling, but that’s okay, I don’t always want a brick in my stomach.”

    I think that if you stuck with eating vegetables only for a bit longer, and had the opportunity to experiment with different plant based cuisines, you’d find that non-meat can be as filling.

    A challenge (or some would say, benefit) of not eating meat is that you have to eat out less. Vegetarian restaurant options are not always “meaningful” as you put it. Since you are only eating 5 meat containing meals a week, what do you eat for the other meals?

  3. Hi Jeff– I know it’s been awhile since your post, but I just found it. I really appreciate your commentary on meaningless meat. That really reflects our culture of mass production which has taken over agriculture and meat production. Rather than localized consumption, we eat stuff grown who-knows-where containing who-knows-what. I’m volunteering with the Meatless Monday project (www.meatlessmonday.org) and learning a lot about the environmental impact of meat & dairy production. This is really important if we think about sustainable ways to use our land and water resources, since most of it is so polluting(not to mention the antibiotic content in the food!). The website has good meatless recipes of all kinds and some good info for folks trying to cut down on meat in their diet, but without being preachy! Good luck with your goals!

  4. i liked reading about this experience, i found it by just searching vegetarian. i think with the right amount of protein, you’d have a more full feeling. have you ever tried mock meats? those will also help with meat cravings. i know your not going full veg but i just started a blog with veg recipes you might benefit from trying out 🙂
    tracy

  5. I’ve often wondered if meat was more “substantial” or filling, as a lifer vego .. I will enjoy my meal a lot but will be hungry before someone who ate a meat meal at the same time as me .. you make me think maybe I am on to something! 😉 Well done on the experiment, I don’t think it would be easy to give up meat if you are used to eating it!

  6. I enjoyed ready your story and your conclusions. Even if you’re not interested in becoming vegetarian, I think it is awesome that you have a new found understanding of why people might choose this lifestyle! 🙂

  7. I really liked reading this your wrote your thoughts and feelings well. You remind me of when I first started trying to be vegetarian.

    I just limited what meat I had at first then I started trying new foods. I’m not pressuring you into vegetarianism, but I praise anyone who reduces meat intake. It’s intesting that you said that you use to think vegetarian meals lack substance.

    I once read that the main psycological difference between meat eater and vegetarians were that vegetarians see meat as death while meat eaters see meat as life giving.

    Vegetarians see meat as death. Not only the death of an animal, but also the death of human health,our enviroment, and resources.
    While meat eaters feel that by consuming a creature that was once living that they are absorbing life, substance, energy, testerone.

    I’m not sure if it’s true, but it is intersting

  8. Greetings! Very useful advice within this post! It’s the little changes that make the most significant changes. Many thanks for sharing!

  9. Good post. I absolutely love this website. Keep it up!


Leave a Reply

Categories

