Posted by: Orlick | January 10, 2008

Vegetarian Week – Day 3 – Midday Middle Eastern

Today I hung out in Astoria/LIC, Queens. I love Steinway. There are so many restaurants. So many great smells as I go past. Choices 1 and 2 (Mombar and Kebab Cafe) were closed, so we walked down the street and happened upon practically the only restaurant open for lunch. I did not record the name unfortunately, I believe it is one of these

Me and a friend made a tasting tray at a middle eastern place near Mombar. We had hummus which had olive oil and a few vegs on it. some eggplant thing, not babaganoush> I am usually not into eggplant sauteed. I don’t like its consistency, but it is growing on me. That is part of the reason for this experiment – to let these things grow on me. Also a falafel wrap and rice w/ lentil and onions (Mujadarra) which rocked. and maybe something else which I cannot remember. UPDATE – it was fried cauliflower (Arnabeet Mekleh).

This morning, my mother said to me “How are you gonna get your proteins??? you need protein, you can’t just have carbohydrates!” yeah mom, word. Vegs and fruits are negligible, aren’t they? So, where do I get my proteins? I assume Legumes and soy. but I don’t eat too much soy as it is, and I don’t want to go the faux food root.

Here is a blurb from happycow.net

PROTEIN IN LEGUMES: Garbanzo beans, Kidney beans, Lentils, Lima beans, Navy beans, Soybeans, Split peas

PROTEIN IN GRAINS: Barley, Brown rice, Buckwheat, Millet, Oatmeal, Rye, Wheat germ, Wheat, hard red, Wild rice

VEGETABLE PROTEIN: Artichokes, Beets, Broccoli, Brussels sprouts, Cabbage, Cauliflower, Cucumbers, Eggplant, Green peas, Green pepper, Kale, Lettuce, Mushrooms, Mustard green, Onions, Potatoes, Spinach, Tomatoes, Turnip greens, Watercress, Yams, Zucchini

PROTEIN IN FRUITS: Apple, Banana, Cantaloupe, Grape, Grapefruit, Honeydew melon, Orange, Papaya, Peach, Pear, Pineapple, Strawberry, Tangerine, Watermelon

From chooseveg.com, they list lentils, Textured Vegetable Protein (TVP), tofu, seitan, tempeh. These don’t sound that great. I remember havign a seitan chicken nugget at foodswings. That felt wierd and I wasnt into it at all. I am not a fan of foodswings. you will have to be a really cute promising girl to be able to get me back there.

I made a nut mix of walnuts, sweet peanuts, and roasted garlic pistachios. To my surprise, they were more than halfway done after 30 minutes at work. It seems EVERYONE loves nuts. It’s just not available as much it, or people don’t think to eat it until it’s right in front of them. They sure are fun though!

Middle Eastern food seems very vegetarian friendly. They have such good meats that I never really experimented as much with those others. Damn, I am getting really hungry with the mention of “meats”. Do they have good farming over there?

We just ordered food from chinese. Pan Fried Noodles w/ vegetables. Not too experimental, but its what I have to do in a crunch w/ no time. I shouldnt even be writing this.

Leave a Reply

Categories

